Paralaminar Nucleus Of Amygdala

The corticoamygdaloid transition zone (a zone of confluence of the medial parvicellular basal nucleus, paralaminar nucleus, and the sulcal periamygdaloid cortex) provides the main input to the CeLcn.  

RESULTS: The serotonin transporter 5-HTT is distributed heterogeneously in the primate amygdala, with the lateral subdivision of the central nucleus, intercalated cell islands, amygdalohippocampal area, and the paralaminar nucleus showing the heaviest concentrations. High concentrations of 5-HTT-labeled fibers in the intercalated islands and parvicellular basal nucleus/paralaminar nucleus, which contain immature -appearing neurons, suggest a potential trophic role for serotonin in these subregions..  

The highest density of 5-hydroxytryptamine immunoreactive fibers is observed in the central nucleus, the nucleus of the lateral olfactory tract, the paralaminar nucleus, the anterior amygdaloid area and a small region of the amygdalohippocampal area.  

In the basolateral group, there is a particularly distinct dorsoventral gradation such that Zn levels are most dense ventrally, i.e., in the paralaminar nucleus, the ventral division of the lateral nucleus, and the parvicellular divisions of both the basal nucleus and the accessory basal nucleus.  

In the amygdala, bcl-2 positive neurons with an immature morphology are densely distributed in the paralaminar nucleus and intercalated cell islands, the parvicellular basal nucleus, and the ventral periamygdaloid cortex and amygdalohippocampal area.  

The analysis of the primary dendritic branches pointed out the occasional presence of dendritic bundles (fascicular dendritic arrangement) with their predomination in the parvicellular division of the basal nucleus and paralaminar nucleus. Additionally, the presence of dendrodendritic contacts, indicated by light microscopy, was also found in the parvicellular division of the basal nucleus and especially in the paralaminar nucleus..  

The lowest densities of immunopositive neurons were found in the paralaminar nucleus, in the periamygdaloid cortex (PAC1 and PACo) and in some of the intercalated nuclei. In the paralaminar nucleus, the calbindin-D28k-immunoreactive axons formed tortuous plexus (100-200 microns in diameter) that surrounded several unstained somata.  

High densities of 125I-NT binding sites were found in the following amygdaloid structures the dorsal part of the accessory basal nucleus, the medial part of the cortical nucleus, the lateral subdivision of the central nucleus, the paralaminar nucleus, the amygdalohippocampal transition area and the rostral portions of the anterior amygdaloid area.  

The paralaminar nucleus, central nucleus, medial nucleus, and the periamygdaloid cortex contained the lowest densities of calretinin neurons.  

The regions containing the lowest density of parvalbumin-immunoreactive cells were the paralaminar nucleus, the parvicellular division of the basal nucleus, the central nucleus, the medial nucleus and the anterior cortical nucleus.  

The regions containing the lowest densities of parvalbumin-positive profiles were the medial nucleus, anterior cortical nucleus, central nucleus, and the paralaminar nucleus.  

The anterior amygdaloid area, basal complex, paralaminar nucleus, cortical nucleus, cortical-amygdaloid transition area, and amygdalohippocampal area contained moderate densities of immunoreactivity.  

Within the amygdala, the most conspicuous labeling was in the paralaminar nucleus which forms the rostral and ventral limits of the amygdala.  

Highest densities of immunoreactive fibers were observed in the periamygdaloid cortex, medial nucleus, parvicellular division of the accessory basal nucleus, paralaminar nucleus, ventrolateral portion of the lateral nucleus, parvicellular division of the basal nucleus, and the lateral division of the central nucleus.  

[ View All ]